Meet Scarlett O’Camera

Today I got the most amazing birthday gift in the mail. It is something I have lusted after for over a year. It is something that I just stand and stare at every time I go in to Best Buy. It is something where I calculated how many months it would take me to pay it off if I just put it on my credit. And now, it is mine!

I even managed to get it early after we saw the FedEx man at the grocery store and stalked him to his truck so we could see if he had it. He did! Thanks small town (and Mr. FedEx)!

I know what you’re thinking… “God Camille, you take such crappy photos. Invest in a nice camera already!”

Sorry, what was that you were saying?

BOOM!

Her name is Scarlett O’Camera and we are in love.

In fact, I spent the rest of the afternoon alternating between Thanksgiving cooking and playing with settings on Scarlett. I managed to take a few really pretty pictures. There will be a lot more to come as I document Thanksgiving and my birthday! Here’s a little taste…

(Harley looks good in HD. She looks good always, but real good in HD.)

I am having some issues capturing colors correctly, but it’s okay. I plan to spend a nice part of tomorrow with my manual (I already spent an hour today) looking specifically at colors.

Can you tell I’m excited? I am so freaking excited! I have had a very stern talk with Harley about how she isn’t too even look at my camera (much less try to push it off the table). Whenever she tries to look at it, I come at her like a bat out of hell. I think she is scared of me now.

Okay, I’m off to spend some quality time with Steve Scarlett. You can’t fight true love!

8 thoughts on “Meet Scarlett O’Camera

  1. WOAH!!! I am so happy, yet so JEALOUS of you!! 😉 Glad you finally found your Scarlett – I can’t wait to see all of the gorgeous pictures you take with her! (I demand a large ratio of those pictures to be Harley pictures 🙂 )

  2. I’m so happy that you finally got one!!! What I enjoy most is how your entire family pitched in. I think thats wonderful. Work with the “a-dep” setting on the dial as well as “P” mode, and that will help with the color issue. You will have so much fun with this Camera!!

  3. Pingback: 2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

