You Know What Really Grinds My Gears?

You know what grinds my gears? (What show!? Anyone?)

  1. Math. I don’t understand it. I will never understand it. I will get a C in the class and consider it a great success. I have put about 5 times more effort in to my math class than any of my other classes this quarter, yet I am getting an A in all my classes but math, in which I am getting a B- or C. Math really grinds my gears.
  2. Money. Have you ever noticed that there is just never enough of it? When you think you have some, suddenly there are textbooks to buy and bills to pay and whosh, it is gone. Money really grinds my gears.
  3. Ignorant people. Yep, you get a full story for this one. So, there are these two boys, likely Freshman, who sit behind me in my Health and Human Sciences class. They like to make snide remarks about just about everything our amazing professor says. Well, today we were talking about body image and the professor showed us this photo: I really wish I were kidding when I tell you what they said. I really do. If I were kidding, then maybe my blood pressure wouldn’t have shot up and I would have been the closest I have ever been in my life to punching a person square in the jaw. These two moron boys said, “Ew! That’s disgusting! They are so fat!” I almost screamed. In fact, I am getting angry again just recapping it. What kind of ignorant, cruel person says something like that? I wanted to turn around and tell them that if that is their attitude toward women, then good luck ever getting one to look at you. It is because of snide, unthoughtful comments like those that women feel such a push for perfection. Eating disorders are fueled by these statements. Plastic surgery is pursued for less. Body image is destroyed over kinder comments. Ah, I am so furious all over again that I just need to leave this one at that. Ignorant people really grind my gears.

So there you have it, that’s what really grinds my gears.

(Did anyone guess Family Guy? If so, you were right!)

I want to hear what you have to say about those boys’ comments. Am I being irrationally angry over this? Would you like to meet me at my class on Thursday and help me kick their asses?

14 thoughts on “You Know What Really Grinds My Gears?

  1. haa… I always said I didn’t understand math either, and my first job out of college was an accountant. my second position? a CFO !! 😀

    YES, I’ll gladly come down and kick some ass. 😉 stupid ignorant people, they don’t deserve anyone getting that upset. it is incredibly maddening that there are so many D-BAGS like them, though. ick.

    like this one, calling a ballet dancer fat!! –>

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/29/arts/dance/29nutcracker.html?_r=2&ref=alastair_macaulay

    …he must have come from Marie Claire…

  2. Good Lord, people are so stupid sometimes. I’ll fly up there, help you kick their butts, then make them pay me back for airfare 😉

    But seriously, that’s just mean. Don’t let it get to you, though – there are just as many smart guys as there are stupid ones…possibly.

  3. Okay. These two morons deserve some SERIOUS a** kicking! If I were closer, you bet I would be there! That is the wonderful thing about getting older…. I don’t mind calling people on the sh** right then and there. I realized a long time ago no one ever dies of embarassment. On the other hand LOTS of people die from eating disorders. Go get ’em Camille! You should seriously make an issue of it IN THE CLASS -PUBLICLY! CALL THEM OUT!!!
    Wow- I guess it pushed a couple of my buttons!
    Love you,
    Twila

    • I seriously sat there for an hour making a mental pros and cons list of calling them out. I ultimately decided it wasn’t worth it because I would have disrupted a class of 700. They better watch their smartass mouths on Thursday, though, because I am one bad comment away from sending them to Student Health Services. And for the record, I could totally beat either of them in a fight.

    • Unfortunately she couldn’t even hear them. It is a lecture of about 700 people so their chatter is just white noise. She is definitely the kind of person that, if she had heard, would have them out of her classroom before they could protest.
      I wish this was their first offense, but they say stupid, insensitive things all the time. Usually I just try to ignore them, but this was the first time that I really felt like doing something.

  4. oh my gosh….
    first, I have seen that photo before. I think it was a Hanes add. (don’t quote me)
    and my first reaction was RELIEF. oh my gosh…we all look like that and are beautiful.

    it is such the small percentage of humanity that is zero body fat and cut abs and whatever the heck we pine after and why the heck do we put ourselves thru the agony.

    I have to agree with Twila 🙂 that the older we get the easier it is to say it as it is. Im in better shape at 40 than I was at 20 and I was only thin in my 30’s because I was living off of ephedra and diet pepsi. Depresed ?? you bet. muscles, NO. Strong? HELL NO. I got pneumonia (sp) and was sick and crying all the time…BUT THIN.

    I probably wouldn’t have said anything too. In a class of 700 I would have been embarrassed….and I am one of those stupid people who equate embarrassment to death. I had brothers who teased me horribly and I never want to feel like that EVER.

    BUT…in a smaller environment (like at my job) better watch out. I’m pretty tolerant but when someone over steps a boundary (esp mine)
    big mouth Cindy on the scene.

    I would have walked out. I would have made my statement like that. Or moved far away from jerk boys.
    I’d at least say something to the teacher if you can, if it will matter … that kind of b.s. is just plain aweful.

    btw …kinda off topic but relevant… a co worker gave me a bag of jeans the other day. I am going to be honest here…size 6 to size 10 and she just said keep what I want or what fits and do what I want. I figured the 6’s would fit but not after that. I typically wear a 4 to 6.
    now here’s the funny thing. a 6 is not a 6… I see this all the time. each brand is sized so different.
    ALL the pants fit. ALL of them. There was not a big significant difference between the 6 and the 8…and the 10 too. the 10 was just a little more breathable. NONE were loose. NONE
    I don’t know what to make of it except getting all sweaty palms and depressed over a number on our jeans is DUMB.
    dumb dumb dumb.
    I think I’ll cut the tags off all of them (because they are the exact same pant…not sure why she had 4 of the same jean) but I’ll cut the tags off and just wear what feels good.

    I’m done!

    GREAT TOPIC and next time GIVE EM HELL for us all!!!!
    xoxoxo

  5. I had to retake calc 3 4 times before I passed it. I never have, and never will understand math. Your not alone. As for those boys, i’m glad that you have self control because I would have definitely said something. They are rude, obnoxious, and probably just trying to get attention. They will realize in the future that those kinds of comments will never land them a soul mate. We are all beautiful in our own way. Just because we have curves, doesn’t make us fat. I’d like to slap them in the face with a rock. Maybe twice. Ignorance grinds my gears.

  6. I can say I have serious body image issues, still even though they are much better. And they all root in jr high and high school from boys. Sometimes it was from how they treated me and other’s are from wanting boys to like me and seeing who they went after. People can be so damaging.

    • I feel the same way. It’s not like body image issues are something you can be like, “Okay, I am just over them”, they take a lot of time and energy to recover from. I have to tell you, I am constantly surprised and angered by other peoples’ actions. It’s like some people have no moral compass.

Leave a Reply

