Ugly Cookies Need Love Too

Not every cookie can be a supermodel. Some are just born kind of ugly. But just because a cookie is ugly, doesn’t mean it doesn’t deserve love too! You have to remember that just because a cookie isn’t particularly sexy, doesn’t mean it isn’t insanely delicious! See, even Harley can’t keep her great tongue of excitement in her mouth:

She does this quite often. I generally have to use my finger to push her tongue back in to her mouth.

Maybe it is necessary that I made ugly cookies today. Really, I don’t look much sexier than these cookies right now. I have just come off a week of finals (hence the lack of food posts this week) and I can’t remember the last time I brushed my hair… or wore something besides the same black leggings that I am wearing right now.

So with that, let me give you this recipe and then go try and remember where our shower is. Somewhere to my left…. but where….

Ugly Thumbprints

  • 1 Cup Butter
  • 2/3 Cup White Sugar
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Jam
  • 1/2 Cup Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 3/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Teaspoon Milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together butter and white sugar until smooth. Mix in 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. Mix in flour until dough comes together. Roll dough into 1 1/2 inch balls, and place on ungreased cookie sheets. Make a small hole in the center of each ball, using your thumb and finger, and fill the hole with preserves.
  3. Bake for 14 to 18 minutes in preheated oven, or until lightly browned. Let cool 1 minute on the cookie sheet.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix together the confectioners’ sugar, 3/4 teaspoon almond extract, and milk until smooth. Drizzle lightly over warm cookies.

(Please note that you need 1 tsp milk, not 1 tbs. Maybe if I learned to read directions I would have beautiful sugary drizzles and not a liquid sugar layer.)

Oh, and let it be noted that, aside from math: ruiner of lives and GPAs, I got straight A’s this Quarter 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Ugly Cookies Need Love Too

  1. Hey, congrats on the straight A’s!! BOOYAH! 😀

    And I love it when my cat gets her tongue stuck like that…I always push it back in, too. And at least you kept up with posting this week….I was a total recluse, in real life and on the web!

  2. found your blog from a comment you left on tina’s and just read your story. wow! Congrats to you for getting healthy!

    I live in San Diego…if you’re ever there, say hi!

    And the thumbprints are gorgeous! Me and my grandma used to make them when i was a kid and they looked just like yours 🙂 homemade = beatiful no matter what!

  3. Hey missy,

    ALL cookies look ugly after they are eaten (chomp chomp chomp), and those look very yummy!
    Congrats on the great grades!
    Twila

  4. what do you mean ugly!

    they are adorable! mine leaked all over the place and I’m with Twila!

    your tastebuds and stomach don’t care! hehe

    did I hear BLOGGER MEET UP and with AVERIE too???

    better add me to that list chica!
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

