Decoration+Rice+Goodbye

Do you remember last week when I was feeling handy and I managed to put up curtains by myself for phase 1 of apartment decoration? Well, first of all, I didn’t even get in trouble for putting up the curtains on my own! In fact, Steve said I did a great job. Score one for me. Second of all, today I want to bring you the next part of our gradual apartment decoration. We have been working on these for a few days now after we got the idea from Young House Love. We were so excited to find something simple and inexpensive to fill the massive expanse of hallway wall that was just glaring at us.

I am in complete love with the way this turned out! We have some final touches to put on it, but that is a job for a certain artistic boyfriend of mine.

Let’s move on to my delicious lunch, shall we? While at the gym, I was busy concocting delicious lunch recipes in my noggin and reading Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Though I was productive in both endeavors, I absolutely need to share my lunch with you today!

Pumpkin Pie Rice

  • 1/2 Cup Rice
  • 1/2 Cup Water
  • 1/3 Cup Vanilla Soy Milk
  • 1 Tsp Butter
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1/4 Cup Pumpkin
  1. Combine water, milk, rice, salt, butter, and pumpkin pie spice in a medium saucepan.
  2. Bring to a boil.
  3. Cover with a tight fitting lid; reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Remove from heat and allow to stand for 5-10 minutes.
  5. Heat pumpkin either over the stove or in the microwave.
  6. Fluff rice with fork and mix pumpkin in.

This would be completely amazing with coconut butter! I wish I had some lying around the house… *hint hint, Santa!*

On another note, I guess I have failed to mention that we are going out of town tomorrow. We are headed off to Colorado to visit Steve’s family, including his Mom, Grandma, Uncles, Brother, Sister-in-Law, and two nephews (one of whom is only a few months old!). We are leaving before the crack of dawn on Monday morning and we will be back Friday evening. Unfortunately, I am likely looking at 5 days without wireless internet, so any posts I do will be quick ones via Steve’s Mom’s computer.

We are going to be way up in the mountains, about 30 minutes outside Breckenridge, where there is going to be lots of snow and coldness. It is absolutely gorgeous up there and I plan to take lots of photos, but you may have to wait until Friday to see them. Bear with me! I promise I will be back, and when I am, it will be for a week of adventures and amazing food. But more about that later…

From our first trip to Colorado together in 2009.

Have a fabulous pre-Christmas week and stay warm!

10 thoughts on “Decoration+Rice+Goodbye

  1. Pingback: 2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

