Foodie Monday

Happy Monday!

Boy was I out last night. I ended up sleeping from about 10:30pm to 6:45am and I woke up feeling like I had just slept my life away. But of course, anyone who wakes up at 6:45am to their internal clock in my family is an early riser. I was up long before Celeste which ended up being a really good thing. I started my morning with coffee and a 2 mile run. It felt so nice to get some blood flowing after our 9+ hours in the car yesterday! But alas, the day could not be wasted away on things like sleeping and running. There is Oregon to be explored and food to be eaten! Plus, I needed to be very zen-like in order to survive the horrible place we had to visit today: Eugene, aka, the home of the enemy (Go Beavs!).

But first… Great Harvest! I got a Cranberry-Apple Muffin. It was tasty, but not my favorite thing I have ever gotten there.


I didn’t end up getting any photos because it was pouring and I didn’t want to get Scarlett O’Camera wet. I’m going to be honest, despite my OSU bias, I really expected U of O to be prettier. It is definitely the more well-known of the two schools and I figured that, as the flagship Oregon school, it would be incredibly beautiful. Truly, neither Celeste or I were impressed. It just seemed like a jumble of unorganized buildings. We really didn’t find it all that beautiful.

After we checked out U of O, we came back to Corvallis for a tour of OSU. And, guess what? OSU for the win! Celeste loved it! I wasn’t even trying to sway her decision! She said it was prettier and just nicer in general. So, so much win 🙂

After our campus tour, we decided that frozen yogurt was in order. I left my camera in the car and didn’t manage to get any photos of my delicious creation, but I did manage to get photos of the other amazing thing we treated ourselves to:

Macaroons! We expected them to be incredibly light, almost to the point of no flavor, but instead they were perfectly light while still maintaining a good, sweet density. Absolute loooove!

When we got home there was an immediate need for sweatpants and dinner. After all the sweet stuff this afternoon we wanted veggies and lots of them! Enter: Crack Broccoli and Sweet Taters:

So perfect and delicious! Consider our plates cleaned.

The plan is to spend the rest of the night watching Kick Ass and Scott Pilgram vs. the World, both of which Celeste hasn’t seen yet.

Have a great night!

4 thoughts on “Foodie Monday

  1. I loved Great Harvest when Twila and I were up there! I wonder what can be done to rain-proof Scarlett O’Camera. What do the pros do?

Leave a Reply

