Twas The Day After Christmas…

Happy day after Christmas! We had a wonderfully low-key holiday and seriously did nothing. We spent the week before last in Colorado and my sister was visiting for the past 6 days, so we were completely ready to just sit on the couch all day and be lazy. We decided a few months back that we didn’t want to do presents this year. After our move in September, finances are still quite tight and we are in “recovery mode”. Instead of buying each other things, we bought special presents for our fur children and spent the gift cards we got from our families on special things for ourselves to put under the tree.

We tale great pride in our abilities as fur parents, and we seriously treat the dog and cat like our children. They deserve special things! Not to mention, this was Harley’s first Christmas and we wanted it to be really special for her. Laugh all you want, it’s cool. Harley spent the entire day playing with/breaking her new toys and Oy enjoyed cuddle time with his new squeaky toys.

They both seemed to have a wonderful day and were tuckered out by 2pm.

For ourselves, we got Family Game Night for the PS3, something we have been wanting for a while. Steve also got a game for himself and I got a food processor and new luggage. Total win! I am so excited to make nut butters (with the food processor, not the luggage)!

It may have been a bit of a lazy, nontraditional Christmas, but it worked just fine for us and we had a wonderful day.

My goal for today was to eat well and be lazy. When I woke up and saw that we were out of milk, I almost cried oatmeal tears. I decided to buck up and just use water, but let me tell you, it just isn’t the same. It was fine. It was edible, but it wasn’t amazing. Bummer! After breakfast, the sun finally made an appearance so I decided to do my run while I had the chance. But of course, only in Oregon can you leave for a run in the sunshine and come back dripping wet.

Soaked! I somehow managed to do 4.5 miles in 42 minutes. My knee hurts like no one’s business, but it is the kind of pain that I think will subside if I just stay off it for an hour or so.

Lunch was incredible. After all the indulgence during the past two weeks, all I want is fresh, healthy food. Can you say “huge salad”?

This incredible salad contained black beans, tomatoes, roasted butternut squash and raspberry chipotle sauce. For the first time in two weeks, I finish a meal feel rejuvenated, not sluggish. It’s a great feeling!

The rest of the day will likely contain laziness. Sometimes a girl just needs to be lazy. It is winter break, after all! I will leave you with a recipe from last week. If you haven’t sunk too far in to a sugar coma, I suggest you eat these immediately!

Oh, and now it’s sunny again. Anyone want to go for a run?

Cake Batter Chocolate Bark

From How Sweet It Is
  • 6 ounces good dark chocolate
  • 12 ounces good white chocolate
  • 1 tbs yellow cake mix
  • sprinkles of your choice (at least 3 tablespoons worth or more)
  1. Melt dark chocolate either in the microwave or a double boiler. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and pour chocolate on. You can smooth it with a spatula to the thickness you desire. Stick in the freeze for 20 minutes.
  2. Melt while chocolate. Whisk in cake mix, stirring well until no lumps remain. Let it set for 3 full minutes (or at least until it slightly thickens). Remove baking sheet with chocolate from the freezer and immediately pour white chocolate on top. Sprinkle on sprinkles. Freeze for 20 minutes.
  3. Once set, break into chunks. Keep refrigerated.

11 thoughts on “Twas The Day After Christmas…

  1. What a cute T-shirt for Harley! Are you the same daughter who criticized me for putting a sweater on little Lola (who has minimal fur) when it got cold out? Somehow I sense a disconnect! 🙂
    Love, Mom

  2. Ah! I hope the dripping wet wasn’t freezing-dripping wet; I hate running this time of year when it’s so cold and you sweat but it only becomes cold-sweat. I love your animals playing with the Christmas gifts! Pets really are like children

  3. I love this laid back christmas. I wish ours would have been like that. Sometimes it seems like everyone gets so caught up in making the big day big that it really isn’t too fun anymore. The cake batter bark is too cute. I can;t wait to try making some.

  4. That chocolate bark sounds so wrong, but looks so right. I may have to copy that recipe down and make it in about two months… when I’m finally out of my Christmas cookie coma. Also, I probably spend more money on my dog than on anybody else. I like to tell people that it’s because she was a shelter dog with a rough first year of life, but really it’s because I just love to spoil her!

  5. Pingback: 2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

