2010: The Part Where We Lived In California

Isn’t it crazy how much things can change in the course of a year? At this time last year, I was probably out shopping for my fancy New Year’s dress. This year I am trying to figure out how I can possibly keep myself awake until midnight…

January 2010

We rang in our first New Year’s together with fancy dress and small amounts of alcohol. We can’t quite remember if we managed to stay awake until midnight…

In mid-January, we took our second trip to Colorado to visit Steve’s family. We went snowboarding and Steve first fell in love with his nephew, Nathan.

When we got home from Colorado, we drove up to Los Angeles so Steve could cash in his Christmas present: Bulls vs. Clippers tickets! This was the first and only basketball game I have ever been to and it was really fun!

February 2010

February passed in the blink of an eye. I was in full time study mode and I’ll be damned if I can remember one single thing that happened this month! Don’t even both saying, “What about Valentines Day!?” because we don’t believe in Valentine’s Day. Yep, for reals.

March 2010

On March 6 we celebrated our one year anniversary with a trip to Disneyland!

And yes, I am the Astro Blaster champion!

April 2010

In April, the year really started to pick up speed. We took two trips to Universal Studios AND a trip to Disneyland with our good friend, Sarah.

Oh, and did I mention the biggest thing to happen in April? My blog baby was born! Mosey on over here to take a look at my first entry. Be warned, it includes no photos and no attempts to be interesting at all 🙂

May 2010

May was a very special month because I met the future love of my life. Oh, I mean, the second biggest love of my life. We drove all the way up to LA in early May to check out some kittens we saw online. By the end of the day, we had put money down on our little fuzzball:

Look at how sweet and tiny she was! Nothing like the little demon that bit my toes at 5:45 this morning.

Celeste and I also took a trip to Universal Studios to celebrate her 17th birthday!

We finished out the month with a Memorial Day BBQ in honor of Celeste’s birthday.

June 2010

June was an amazing month, and probably one of the biggest of the year! I rang in the new month by accepting my position at OSU! We were officially moving! But the biggest stuff is yet to come!

On June 6, I completed my first Marathon (and first race!). I finished the San Diego Rock and Roll Marathon with a sub-5 hour time and an incredible sense of accomplishment.

From that day on, I was hooked on races, and truly, hooked on running.

Just days after my race, while still nursing sore legs, we hopped in the car and headed up to San Francisco! You can check out my trip recaps here, here, here, here, here, and here. It was nice to be back in my old stomping grounds, but it also served as a reminder that I love to visit SF, but I think I will avoid living there again.

One of the main reasons for our trip was so I could attend the OSU Registration program just south of the city. I ended up getting all registered and I really think that’s when I first fell in love with my school.

But June wasn’t over yet! Just days after we got home from San Francisco, I packed my bags again to take off on a National Parks vacation with my Mom and Celeste. I have a ton of recaps from this trip, but take a look at these two for recaps of my favorite two days: part 1 and part 2. I basically fell in love with Yosemite and ever since we got home, I have been trying to figure out how I can go back.

I would say that was easily one of the best and most thrilling (see part 2, where I cried on Half Dome) trips we have ever taken!

July 2010

In July I started running more races. I ran the Coronado Independence Day 15k on, you guessed it, Independence Day and the San Diego Blood Bank 5k (my first and only race with Steve!) on July 11.

Outside of racing news, we brought home Harley in July!

(This is one of my favorite photos ever)

Just days later, we got our geek on at Comic-Con! It was a long, exhausting three days, but it was so much fun! Check out my recaps for celebrity photos and hot men 🙂

We also had a visit from Steve’s mom in July! She flew out from Colorado to pay us a visit. We did some San Diego exploring and took her up to Anaheim for yet another Disney trip 🙂

I think we were so exhausted that we slept through the last few days of July.

August 2010

August was our last month in San Diego. We spent a good chunk of the month packing and the rest of it doing smaller activities.

  • I went to the Laguna Arts Festival with my Mom and Celeste, an annual tradition.

Oh, and we packed up all our worldly possessions and moved across the country. But I’ll tell you more about that in Part 2: The Part Where We Live In Oregon.

6 thoughts on “2010: The Part Where We Lived In California

  1. Pingback: 2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon | I Will Run For Chocolate

  2. Pingback: Goal Setter | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

