2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon

If you haven’t read it yet, check out my post on the first part of the year- 2010: The Part Where We Lived In California.

The last time you saw us, we were on the road on our way to Oregon. With two Civics, a 20-foot U-Haul, and a fluffy puppy and kitten in tow, we picked up our entire lives and hauled them 1031.11 miles (I Mapquested it) up the West coast…

September 2010

On September 1st, we moved in to our new apartment in Corvallis, Oregon. We instantly fell in love with our new town and took every opportunity to explore it. Check out my posts from the first few days we were in town. They give a great overview of our lovely little home:

We got settled quite quickly, which was good, considering Steve had a birthday coming up! I’m sure he wont want me to disclose his age (let’s just say that he graduated high school before books were invented), but he will want me to disclose his birthday cake!

This carrot cake, baked by me and decorated by him was really… special. We spent September 10 exploring Newport, Oregon and the Newport Aquarium. Someone was quite thrilled to see otters…

September also welcomed the arrival of Project Food Blog. I made it through the first two rounds before I (luckily) didn’t continue. It was a cool, if short experience! I think I would definitely try it again next year!

In September, I also got my first bike that didn’t include training wheels. Bubbles, as I named her, had to take a back seat to running because I had another race to run! I finished the Corvallis Fall Festival 10k with a great time and started school the next day feeling excited and happy. I immediately fell in love with OSU and no, Mom and Dad, I don’t plan to transfer again.

October 2010

On the first day of October, we flew in to Chicago and were picked up by Steve’s Dad. This was the first time I had met him and I discovered exactly where Steve gets everything from! From his looks to his mannerisms, they are basically twins! I also finally got to see good ol’ Lowell, Indiana, Steve’s hometown. It was a culture shock, to say the least!

It was a short, but sweet trip!

When we got home, we immediately got ready for some visitors! My Dad and Stepmom, Twila, drove all the way up from San Diego to visit us!

But the biggest reason they came to visit? To watch me run the Portland Marathon on 10/10/10! It was an excessively tough race due to the fact that I was really sick and it was pouring the entire time. I didn’t manage to set a PR, but I did manage to finish. It helped that I had the best cheering section known to man!

Unfortunately, I began to experience post-race knee problems and, after about two weeks of very painful walking, I was diagnosed with Illiotibial Band Syndrome. Thus began my healing process, which involved a month on crutches and almost two months being banned from running. It was very discouraging, but I toughed it out.

I stubbornly attempted to run a 5k on October 23rd, which ended with tears and pain. Lesson learned.

On less significant notes, October marked a very lazy Halloween and Harley’s first bath. Make sure you click that link for really cute photos.

November 2010

November marked the beginning of my bazillion blogging transitions. I went through about three URL/format/hosting changes before I ended up at the blog you are reading right now. It was ugly and disorganized and I plan to stay here forever, don’t worry!

But don’t worry, lots of good things happened in November too! We saw our first Corvallis snow:

We celebrated the heck out of Thanksgiving:

I welcomed my new Canon Rebel DSLR, aptly named Scarlett O’Camera. She was one of the greatest birthday presents ever! Finally, on November 28, I celebrated my birthday, the big 2-1! It was an absolutely perfect birthday and a perfect month!

December 2010

December found us doing what we do best, celebrating the holidays/winter! We brought home our first Oregon Christmas tree ($24, no tax!), Sir Mudknuckles.

I also worked on decorating our long-bare apartment:

And I celebrated my Daddy’s birthday from afar. (Miss you, Dad!)

As Christmas grew closer, we set off to Colorado for a holiday visit to Steve’s family. It ended up being a bitter sweet trip. Steve fell further in love with Nathan and met his newest nephew, Erik.

Unfortunately, the trip took a turn for the sad when Steve’s Grandma passed away after a long fight with cancer. Despite the sadness, we were so glad we got to see her and be there with her when she passed. She will be very missed.

As soon as we got back to Corvallis, I basically set off again to pick up a very special visitor from the airport… my sister!

We had so much fun and I miss her already!

The next day, we woke up and celebrated Christmas by buying lots of stuff for our fur children. Christmas:

And finally, that brings us to today and the end of 2010.

It has been quite a year. I can confidently say that it has been the best year I can remember. 2011 is going to bring so many amazing things and I really can’t wait.

2011 will be the year…

  • That I run at least two half marathons and a full.
  • I should have been graduating from college.
  • That I finally pick up a full-time job again.
  • That is even better than 2010.

I hope that 2010 has brought many great things for you and that 2011 will be even better.

Go ahead and share something special about your year!

7 thoughts on “2010: The Part Where We Lived In Oregon

  1. ah… looking back at my year, one of the highlights was finally leaving the clinic… then starting my own thing and a few months later, starting a blog! 😀

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, Camille!!

  2. Sounds like you had a busy year.

    I grew up in northern Indiana. My dad was from Lowell — I think he’s buried near there, actually.

  3. Y’all have had a busy year! Isn’t it amazing to look back and reflect? I started my blog in June so the 1st 1/s of the year wasn’t documented as well. I got engaged and married in 2010 and ran my 1st race. I’m excited to see what 2011 brings – definitely another race or 2…or 3? 🙂

  4. Pingback: Goal Setter | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

