The Morning After 2010

Good morning and welcome to 2011!

Boy did I get hammered last night. I can’t even remember what I did or where I fell asleep, but I woke up in a field in the next town over. Rumor has it that I slept with the entire OSU football team, but I can’t confirm that. Do you believe me? Well, you shouldn’t, because I am a giant liar. Want to know how I really woke up this morning?

I woke up this morning in my favorite, extra baggy PJ’s, with freshly shaved legs and clean sheets. Plus, I woke up no more hungover than during Y2K. So not at all, since I was 10 at Y2K. Is there any better start to a new year? I guess I don’t really understand the appeal of getting drunk on New Years Eve because then you wake up on the first day of the new year with a hangover. That doesn’t sound fun at all! Can someone explain this to me? I guess I’m just old.

Oh, and did I mention that we didn’t even stay up until midnight? Steve had to wake up for work at 4am, so we were out at 10pm, like the good old people we are. We ended up watching two episodes of Veronica Mars (so I Steve can fully explore my his crush on Kristen Bell), which I am proud to say I have hooked my boyfriend on, and crashed early.

I rang in the new year with a nice 5.5 mile run at a comfortable 9:48 pace. I was feeling a little bit of aching in my leg (actually the opposite one of my injury) but I am figuring that I just favor it slightly. When it started hurting, I headed back home. It was a perfect distance to start the new year!

Every new year deserves some delicious food to fuel it! Aside from not wanting an alcohol hangover on the first day of 2011, I really have no desire to have a food hangover either. Welcome, baked tofu:

Baked Tofu

Adapted from Healthy Tipping Point
  • 1/2 block extra firm tofu
  • 2 teaspoons EVOO
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Press excess liquid from tofu.Β  Wrap several paper towels around tofu, and place tofu in between two plates.Β  Let stand for 15 minutes.
  3. Cut tofu in 1 inch by 1 inch pieces.
  4. In a small, microwave-safe bowl, mix EVOO, honey, chili powder, paprika and black pepper.
  5. Microwave marinade for 35 seconds and stir thoroughly.
  6. Spray cooking sheet.
  7. Coat each piece of tofu in marinade and place on cooking sheet.
  8. Cook at 375 for 30 minutes, turning once.

I also threw in a side of broccoli for some added fiber. Tres delicious!

So far 2011 has been great! Good food, good exercise, good day.

What do you have planned for the first day of the new year?

14 thoughts on “The Morning After 2010

  1. Bahaha, all of the football team? Even the kicker? Get it girl! πŸ˜‰

    I don’t see the fun of waking up hung over…I still went out and had a few drinks though. It was more about surrounding myself with excitement, music, and PEOPLE to take on those first few hours of the next big part of my life…because I’ve decided this is going to be the most awesometastic year of my life. Anywho.

    I got to lounge around today, even snuck a nice nap in there πŸ˜‰ Football party this evening with The Coach and then potensh driving home to see my family tomorrow…should be awesome! Hooray for 2011!

  2. Those pictures are really excellent! I love seeing your photo prowess grow over each post πŸ˜€ I can’t wait until I stop being cheap and buy myself a good camera.

  3. Gosh you had me going until you said you’d slept with the football team, and I figured, Steve would have not let you make a fool of yourself.

    really.
    you’re not old…just smart!
    starting the year with a hangover makes for a pretty lousy start.
    (I’ve been “old” forever)

    good for you, and I don’t know anybody that partied up on New Years.
    your baked tofu looks NOM!!
    go get some yarn! I’m off to shop tomorrow!

  4. haha, that’s kinda how my NYE went this year, too : ) Usually we go all-out, because it’s my birthday too, so I like it to be special. But this year we just stayed in, sipped a single glass of champagne, and watched the ball drop on TV (with intermittent snoozing on the couch) like an old married couple! Some might find it depressing, but I find it cute : )

Leave a Reply

