Monstrous Monster

Okay, the thing immediately below this is what Harley typed while I was in the shower. She always likes to add things to my homework or blog post while I am out of the room, but I usually delete them. I thought this one was quite special and very evident of the fact that she is an immature teenager. This statement has not been altered in any way:

OP00P[”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””=

Thanks Harley. O poop, indeed.

As promised, I am back! For a while I thought I might not make it. I thought this week would literally kill me, but here I am and I am quite happy to be alive. So far, this quarter has consisted of school days ranging between 6-10 hours followed by approximately 3-5 hours of studying when I get home. I am feeling tired but ambitious and I am really determined to get amazing grades despite the difficulty of my classes. Much as I complain about studying and going to class, I actually do enjoy school. I like learning, especially about the sciences. Chemistry and Nutrition aren’t easy, but they are so interesting that it makes up for it. The only real complaint I have this Quarter is that I don’t have the time/energy to exercise as much as I would like. I know that a daily run would drastically increase my energy levels, but when I get home from class, all I have the energy to do is collapse on to the couch. I guess you take the bad with the good.

Anyway, last night I slept for almost 9 1/2 hours and it felt amazing. After a week of only getting 6 1/2 to 7 hours (8 is my optimal number), I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for my day. I also woke up craving a distance run this morning. I know the idea is ambitious, but I decided to role with it and go as far as I could. I set out in the 29° ice (brr!) and just ran. I took slow and short steps, which I find affect my IT band a bit less. The second I started increasing the length of my stride, I could feel it and I would scale back. I ended up going 7.14 miles! Yes! I was nice and slow at a 10:30 pace, but I don’t even care. Slow and steady may not win the race, but she sure finishes it!

Icy and slippery!

Low clouds over the hills.

Bundled!

I finished feeling absolutely amazing. Yay for good runs!

When I got home I hopped in the shower before making lunch #1. Is there any more perfect run recovery food than a giant green monster?

This monstrous monster was made with about 3 cups of spinach (I don’t measure), 1 cup vanilla soy milk, and 1 large banana. It was completely, 100% perfect.

I know I am going to need a second lunch in 2 hours or so, which is fine by me! Right now I have a happy tummy and happy legs and it’s time to hit the books for some weekend studying!

9 thoughts on “Monstrous Monster

  1. You are adorable. 🙂 And i hear you on the school part… Except I don’t really like chemistry for some reason. I am, however, completely enamored of biology. But more so physiology, and now we’re learning evolution, so my motivation levels have been dwindling…

    we can do it! science-y majors of the world unite! 😛

  2. Wow what a great morning. Glad you made it through the week. Green monsters are so restorative I need to make them more. Have you seen the drinkable yogurt Kath at Katheats has been using lately? I want to try it in smoothies.

Leave a Reply

