Life Happens

This has been quite an interesting week thus far. Believe me when I said that I had plans of grandeur for daily posts and fabulous recipes, but then life happened and my plans got shot to h-e-double hockey sticks.

On Sunday, Steve’s dog and my step-dog, Oy, started throwing up. He couldn’t keep anything down, be it food or water, and he decided to redecorate our lovely apartment carpet. We were worried, but we decided to wait until the next morning and see if maybe he had just eaten something weird and was trying to get it out of his system. On Monday morning he was still throwing up, so I took him to the Vet in the afternoon. Oy was so dehydrated and weak by the time I got him in that the Vet immediately admitted him and put him on fluids. They took the necessary tests in hopes of figuring out what was wrong with him and we were allowed to take him home in the evening. The next day he was still sick, so Steve took him in to the Vet and left him there on fluids the entire day. After two days of having a catheter stuck in his leg, he seems to be doing better, not great, but better. The Vet’s best guess at this point is Pacreitis, which, unfortunately, can be a chronic condition. We are very optimistic that he will recover, but I will keep you posted of any further developments.

Anyway, so the week has been completely insane and between taking care of the dog and school being crazy as usual, I haven’t even had time to think about busting out a post. But here I am now, trying to make up for lost time.

The other big task that we were hoping to attempt this week before everything got crazy is that I have finally decided to switch over to Thesis! With Steve’s graphic design/technology skills and my puppy dog eyes/whining skills, we were hoping to get a site up and running within the week. Obviously that isn’t going to happen, but be on the lookout for a revamped version of le blog within the next week or two!

In the midst of all this craziness, let me try and give you a glance at what I have been eating.

Breakfast has been the same thing for the past week. Not because I am lazy, but because it is so freaking good! Unfortunately, taking photos at 5:45am is not a pretty business, so please accept this in place of a tradition breakfast photo:

Those are my oat toppings! 2 tsp brown sugar, 1 tbs ground flaxseed, and 1 tbs unsweetened coconut. Total breakfast perfection!

Lunch has been dependent on whether I have been at home or at school. Lunch at school generally consists of two Clif Bars while either running between classes or cramming my brain full of Biology. I know, the healthiest lunch ever. Unfortunately, fresh food can not be eaten as easily while running across campus through the rain. I try to make up for my lunch by making a very healthy, nutrient dense dinner, but we will get to that later. When I am at home during lunchtime, I have been eating those Green Monsters like they are going out of style!

They have been leaving me feeling full and happy for the rest of the afternoon. Total lunch win!

Dinner has been pretty standard as well. I have generally been baking a big sweet potato with a side of broccoli since I come home pretty beat and all I want is easy food in my mouth asap.

I have also managed to fit in a few shorter runs and I am up to about 14 miles so far this week. Considering how manic this week has been, I am proud that I even ran that much!

Oh, and remember those chocolates I bought on Monday? You know, the ones for my “husband”? Those may or may not be gone…

I hope this week is treating you well! I’ll see you this weekend for some baking. It is definitely needed right now 🙂

9 thoughts on “Life Happens

  1. Pingback: Milk & Cereal, no I mean Oats!

  2. Oh I am so sorry to hear about your pup being sick. But I am so happy to see that his name is Oy, love it! Big Dark Tower fan. 🙂 I hope Oy is better soon!

Leave a Reply

