I’m Pretty Awesome

Not to be overly modest or anything, but have I ever mentioned that I totally kick ass? I know, it’s no secret, but sometimes I need to remind myself. (I hope you are picking up on this sarcasm and you don’t think I’m the most vain person in the world.)

So here’s the deal: I wanted to go for a long run this morning, but it was pouring. Normally that would be no big issue, but I really wanted to run with music today and I know from experience that iPod are not waterproof. I decided to make a trip to the most dreaded of all workout equipment… the treadmill dreadmill. I normally avoid the treadmill like the plague, but I really wanted music, so I decided to give it a shot and see how it went. And guess how far I went?

10 miles!

First of all, that is pretty kick ass on the treadmill or not, and second, I was on the freaking treadmill! Also, I successfully met my goal of being back in the double digits by the end of January πŸ™‚ I feel completely, 100% amazing right now and the best part of it is that I’m feeling no pain at all! It is, indeed, a good weekend!

I’m sure you would like to see how I feasted after that run, but sadly, food went directly in to my mouth when I got home and now all that is left are dishes drying in the sink:

Console yourself in knowing that I demolished a massive green monster and a flaxseed roll before hitting the showers. There will definitely be a second lunch today!

Here’s what I do have for you: the reason I was able to run 10 miles on a treadmill staring at an orange wall. An awesome playlist! Duh!

You are allowed to laugh at all my really dorky songs, because most of them are pretty ridiculous, but it’s cool! These songs pump me up and make my run even better.

What are your workout songs?

P.S. I just realized that I have had my running shoes for about 350 miles! Yikes! I guess it’s time to invest in a new pair.

13 thoughts on “I’m Pretty Awesome

  1. um, i love you. slash, ridin’ solo is like MY RUNNING SONG. i dont’ knwo why, but it always makes me stand up straighter and run faster.

    And I adore sparks fly by taytay swift.

    and stacey’s mom.
    and teenage dream.

    and we might be music soulmates.

    (but i haven’t run 10 miles, sighhhh)
    Congrats on a fabulous morning πŸ™‚

  2. First off CONGRATS on the double digit run! That’s kick ASS!!!

    And secondly, a great playlist is the BEST part of a run! To me, anyways πŸ™‚ I actually listened to Till I Collapse on my run today. Aren’t the lyrics perfect for running? “till my legs give out…” bahaha. Good stuff. I have a feeling you’d like Hello Good Morning by Diddy Dirty Money and No Hands by Waka Flocka Flame…those are two of my absolute fave running songs lately. I’m working on another alternative rock playlist for a future post though!

  3. OMG I can’t believe you have The Pretty Reckless on your iPod!! I love them, but I don’t tell many people b/c Taylor Momsen is kind of a twat…but her music is really good (if you’re into grunge-ish rock). I also love Florence and the Machine! πŸ˜€

    My running songs are mostly anime theme songs (LOL). I tend to run to the beat of whatever song I’m listening to, so obviously I need something really fast paced and Japanese music fits the bill!

    Great job on the 10 miles!

Leave a Reply

