Eating My Way Out Of A Rut

I know that, as blog readers, we have a tendency to view other bloggers as “perfect”. Want to know why? It’s the internet, we can portray ourselves however we want to! I don’t have to speak ill of myself at all if I don’t want to. Heck, as far as you know I am a 500-pound, 60 year old man. Okay, I’m not, but I am here to assure you that I am so far from perfect that it is insane. Take last night for example: Steve and I got to bickering over something silly, I don’t even remember what, and that just set me in a mood for the rest of the night. Even when we kissed and made up, I was still grouchy and moody. I am trying this thing where I attempt to fully explore what it making me upset before I make a big deal out of it, so I sat in silence for a good hour before I actually responded to Steve when he asked me what was wrong. My answer: “I am stressed, hungry, and cooped up.” I think that about covers it.

Yes, the stress of school gets to me, especially this Biology class. In my other classes, if I don’t understand something, I can take a quantitative question to office hours, but Biology I plain, straight don’t get. It is just so much information that I don’t even know what I would ask if I went to office hours. It isn’t lack of understanding, it is lack of space in my brain to store this much information.

Yes, I am hungry. Don’t worry, Mom and Dad, I am eating. This isn’t the kind of hungry where I haven’t eaten, this is the kind of hungry where I have eaten the exact same things for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the past month and I am starved for something with flavor. I am trying to eat everything (and I mean everything) before I go food shopping because frankly, we are in the financial pits right now. This may have been aided by an $800 Vet bill last week (Thanks, dog!). I don’t want to put any more strain on our money situation than is necessary, so I have been eating spinach and sweet potatoes all the live long day. As you can imagine, they are getting quite tasteless at this point.

Yes, I am insanely cooped up right now. The only time I have left the house in the past two weeks is to go to school, which reverts us back to problem number one, stress. I desperately need to get out for a few days. I need to go on vacation, or go… somewhere. I need to leave this apartment.

I promise I’m not trying to complain, I just feel like I am in a bit of a rut right now. Thank goodness I can run again, or I think I would literally just sit at my computer refreshing Facebook all day. Believe me, I’m not depressed, or in any way unhappy, It’s just one of those times, you know?

Okay, I am done whining now. Let’s talk food and runs.

Today I hopped on the treadmill (for some reason I have been feeling it of late) and set off for a fast run. At this point in my recovery, I can’t run distances very fast, but I can do a few super speedy miles. I ended up running 5 miles in 43:43, aka, 8:44 miles! I was booking it! I even hit 7:00 minute miles at a few points! It felt really good to go fast, but I ended up going out for another short, and moderately slow 2-miler to make up for lost mileage. Being fast is nice, but it wont run a marathon for me.

In an attempt to mix it up today, because you are as tired of seeing Green Monsters as I am of eating them, I decided to attempt something different. This is my variation on the Breakfast Pizzert a la Katie.

  • 1/3 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 2 Tsp Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Brown Sugar
  • 1/3 Banana, Mashed
  • Dash of Salt
  • 1/3 Cup Water

1. Mix all your ingredient together.

2. Cook in an unpreheated oven at 420 degrees F for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

3. Top with anything your little heart desires! I topped mine with maple syrup and shredded coconut. Delicious!

Perhaps it wasn’t the most nutritionally beneficial lunch, as it is essentially cake, but hey, maybe that’s just what I needed right now. I will go eat a leaf of spinach or something to make up for it.

Have a great afternoon

11 thoughts on “Eating My Way Out Of A Rut

  1. HAA HAA… I said that to my mom once, that I could be a 60 year old man… and Jason could be made up, heck BASIL could be made up for all anyone knows! 😉 All anyone knows about J is his name, and I don’t post photos mainly for his privacy. My mom saw my full name on a google search once, and was freaking out – so telling her that made her laugh. and calm down. 🙂

    I remember a&p class… my favorite, but for me it was A LOT. I was taking biology and math at the same time, and those came easily – when it got to a&p my brains was full! One day, it all kinda clicked, I realized I WAS retaining it… and stopped stressing so much (I got an A)…

    until then, pizza cake for you!! 😀

  2. Mmm I’m sorry… I felt SUPER overwhelmed at timse when I was taking bio last quarter but once I got the “knack” of studying for it, it worked out… For em reading the book really helped make things clearer but it’s unfortunately a totally personal thing :/

    I feel you on the food rut though mine is more because I’m confined to dorm food than anything. I really want to be cooking my own food instead of eating a damn salad every day, but alas… Make sure you fuel well though love!

    lots of hugs for you and good bio vibes 😉 (i have my first test this week, yikes)


    n

  3. Aww, sorry it’s been a rough couple days. The lunch looks great though, cake or otherwise. Hell, sometimes a girl needs a piece of cake, spinach be damned.

  4. ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I so get there from time to time (especially after being cooped up like a chicken all the livelong day)

    I hear ya!!!!
    and we too are penny pinching and I feel this burden to clean the fridge before I buy one more dag nabbed apple.

    gosh life sciences were my strong suit….but math, or say physical sciences put me in a tail spin!

    hugs to ya

Leave a Reply

