Relationship Talk

Let’s talk relationships.

Like I prefaced a few days ago, I am far from perfect. While I have an incredible relationship with the boyfriend, Steve, it sometimes isn’t perfect as well. We do bicker. I do get on his case about things like leaving his laundry on the floor or not doing his dishes. He does get on my case when I am moody and crying on the couch for no reason. We are great, but we are not perfect.

People would always tell me that “relationships take work” or that “marriage isn’t easy and it takes work” (we aren’t married, but we are everything but married), and I would always scoff and think that if a relationship wasn’t easy, it probably wasn’t right. I couldn’t have been more wrong. After being together two years, everything was easy, but not for the right reasons. It was easy because I had stopped putting the effort in that I did at the initial stages of our relationship.

Yesterday I made the promise to him, and to myself that I will work harder. Not that I feel like we ever need to work against our nature to be in a healthy relationship, but sometimes being with someone means doing things you don’t want to do and not complaining about it. It means accepting that you do the dishes because he pays the rent. It means sometimes putting your schedule on the back burner because something unexpected comes up. It means that sometimes he agrees to go to cooking class with you even though I know that, frankly, he would much rather be anywhere but. It means that (don’t read this, Mom and Dad!) sometimes I decide to be “in the mood”, even though I’m not. It means not sweating the small stuff. It means that if you love someone, sometimes you put them first even when you don’t want to. I am finally discovering that good relationships aren’t easy, but they are worth the effort.

With that, I am attempting to make myself in to “early relationship” girlfriend. That is, the person who tried just a little bit harder because our relationship wasn’t solidified yet. I know that things change over time as you change, but I can still make myself in to that blissful girl again who was pretty damn happy that anyone would even want to make out with me. Hell, I can be pretty gross sometimes, so I am lucky that he still wants to make out with me.

With that being said, we decided to go on a date tonight. Nothing major, just a post-class, “let’s catch up” kind of dinner. I’ll admit that the anticipation got me through my long day at school.

We went to another new to us restaurant called Fireworks. It is a place that I always just drive by because it doesn’t look very special, but at the encouragement of my friend, we decided to check it out. It turns out it was adorable inside! I guess that exemplifies not judging a book by its cover!

I decided to make it a special night and order a drink. For some reason I thought it would be a good idea to order a Sweet Love aka, Kahlua, Banana Rum, and Coffee. It wasn’t at all what I wanted and I only ended up drinking about 1/3 of it.

Luckily Steve was there to help me with the whipped cream…

I ordered a cheese plate, which was amazing. Minus the stinky cheese. I’m not a stinky cheese fan, so it just ended up being left uneaten.

Steve got an awesome pizza with tomato and pesto on it.

His pizza was woodfired in this beauty:

We decided that, in honor of the special occasion of us going out to dinner, that we wanted to order dessert. We split the brownie sundae, though I probably ended up eating about 1/3 and Steve about 2/3. Our waiter was adorable and made it shaped like a face 🙂

It was a wonderful dinner and definitely the best meal I have eaten in a while. Not to mention that we had a great night out together.

On a side note: I am officially spoiled by my DSLR. I couldn’t get over how poor the quality of photos is on my point and shoot!

I hope everyone has a wonderful night!

8 thoughts on “Relationship Talk

  1. I have very little relationship experience so I don’t have much to comment on that except PROPS to you for making that kind of commitment. 🙂 Y’all are cute 😉

    And I looove wood-fired pizza. OMG. Jealous.

    And finally, I completely feel you on the dslr vs point & shoot. When i first got home for winter break I didn’t know where my mom had put the SLR so I just took pics of my cookies with the regular one… SOOOO much worse. I think I’ve posted all the crap pictures already though so now I only have good ones left 😉 (and my slr is coming back to me tomorrow! I left it at home, silly girl)

    n

  2. Aww you guys looked like u were having a great time. And I completely agree, it can never be rainbows in a relationship but the tough times always help you grow together 🙂

  3. I’m totally with ya on the relationship stuff! Sometimes you have to give, ya know? And compromised have to be made. After being together awhile it’s so easy to fall into a “rut”, but it’s good to realize that things don’t have to be that way. “New relationship” girl can be fun, too : )

  4. Not supposed to read what? Sometimes “pretending to be in the mood” has created some of my most special memories. Just showing up and saying yes allows that to happen.

  5. Great post! Always appreciate insight on relationships. 🙂
    And the photos aren’t so horrible, they just need a little brightening and some white-balance. The food looks fab anyhow!

Leave a Reply

