The Beauty of Doing Nothing

Yesterday was one of the longest days of my entire life. Let me map it out for you:

  • 5:45am: Alarm goes off. I get ready for school and eat breakfast.
  • 7:25am: Catch bus to school
  • 8-8:50am: Sit in Chemistry
  • 8:50-10am: Study for Bio Midterm
  • 10-10:50am: Sit in Biology
  • 10:50-2pm: Study for Bio Midterm
  • 2-2:50pm: Sit in Comm.
  • 2:50-3:40pm: Walk home
  • 3:40-4:45pm: Run back to school holding a giant plastic bag of clothes to change in to.
  • 5-7:30pm: Study for Bio Midterm
  • 7:30-8:10pm: Take Bio Midterm
  • 8:10-8:30pm: Walk to meet Steve so he can give me a ride home
  • 8:40pm: Arrive home and collapse on the couch

Steve had a long day too, so we both ended up on the couch trying to work up the energy to put a movie on to keep us awake a bit longer. We ended up turning on Groundhog Day from our Netflix Instant Queue even though we have both seen it (it has been a long time for me, though). This led us to the discussion of the eternal question:

What would you do if there were no consequences?

The first thing I thought of was eating. I would eat so many different and unhealthy foods that I never eat simply because they are unhealthy. Hey, I would never gain weight! We both decided that we would want to get sent to prison once, just for kicks and giggles. We also decided that we would fly around the world and see everything. Even if we don’t get to see it all in one day, we would just go back another day. Oh, and we also gave each other free cheating reins, should our Groundhog Day ever comes to fruition. How else am I supposed to sleep with Leonardo DiCaprio before I die?

After talking ourselves to sleep, I think I actually fell in to a sleep coma. In fact, at some point during the night I managed to wriggle out of my zip up sweatshirt without unzipping it. I found it inside-out and balled up on the floor next to me when I woke up. Like I said, I was out like a light!

When I rolled out from my cave of blankets this morning, I vowed to do a whole lot of nothing today. I also started racking my brain for a good recipe. I realized that I haven’t given you guys a recipe in a while and I want to remedy that. Unfortunately, my mind is broken right now. Unless you want to hear about the four levels of protein structure (and believe me, you don’t) then I have nothing.

So please enjoy one part of my no recipe lunch. Snickerdoodle hummus? Check. Broccoli baked with cinnamon? Check. New bowl on sale from Sur la Table? Checkaroo. Going back for seconds? Double check.

What would you do on your Groundhog Day?

Hope you have a good day!

6 thoughts on “The Beauty of Doing Nothing

  1. haha i love that u said u would go straight for the junk food. mmm me too, ice cream, chocolate, cookies… also if there were no consequences, i would steal…lots of expensive jewelry..and hey, why not rob a bank- not like i will have to go to jail right! hehe

    xo

  2. Ah your site llooks lovely! πŸ™‚ and I love this post.
    And i totally remember the protein structures hahaha… urrggghhhhh

    And I should be studying chemistry. Story of my life.

    I agree with eating a ridiculous amount of unhealthy things, even though I feel like it’s kind of sad that I’m limiting myself in that respect, but…

  3. I find it SO hard to do nothing when school’s in session – I always feel like there’s something I could be doing!! Long days totally suck (I feel ya – my schedule looks like that some days as well), but there’s a light at the end of the tunnel!! WE’LL BE DIETITIANS!!!!

Leave a Reply

