Hot Chocolate Cookies

I haven’t talked about running in a while, have I? I have been running 4-6 times a week, I just have skipped over it when it comes to blogging, I suppose. I definitely want to share my run from last night, though, because it was extra spectacular!

I got home from school and decided that I didn’t want to run at all. Well, after thinking it over for a few minutes, I announced that, “This damn run has been on my agenda all day! I am going to do it!” and booked it out of le casa. As soon as my feet hit the pavement, I was moving fast, and I could feel it. I finally made it home approximately 27 minutes later, having run 3.5 miles at a 7:58 pace! That is the fastest pace I have ever held without the assistance of a treadmill!

I think I can actually attribute my increase in speed to treadmill training. While, yes, the dreadmill does have the potential to be more boring than one of Steve’s Western films (Western week=giant bust), I have found that it is an excellent training tool. I feel that, with the help of a treadmill, I can run a sub-two-hour half Marathon in March!

But you don’t want to hear me yammer on about how cool the treadmill is, you want to see food as bad as I want us to finish watching The Aviatar today (we haven’t made it to Leonardo DiCaprio’s butt yet). Oh the simple things…

 

For Christmas, Steve’s Mom got me some kick ass hot chocolate mix. Though I have been using it for the purpose it was created for, I also had been wanting to work it in to a recipe. After a little bit of brainstorming, the answer was obvious:

Hot Chocolate Cookies

  • 2 1/2 Cups Flour
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Cup Butter, Softened
  • 1 1/2 Cup White Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 Cup Hot Chocolate Mix (I used Twinning’s)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients. Finally, mix in hot chocolate mix. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and place onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Are those not some of the coolest looking cookies ever!? Oh, and they taste like heaven too. Because really, the only thing better than drinking hot chocolate is mixing it with more sugar and then eating it (or seeing Leonardo DiCaprio’s butt). Can I get a “what, what”!?

23 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Cookies

  1. Found your blog through Foodpress, and I just had to comment. 🙂 I’m a runner, and I have struggled with weight issues as well. I changed my life 2 years ago, and have since lost 120 lbs. I am looking forward to reading more about your running AND food. 🙂

  2. “wow – these cookies look delish. what a fantastic way to repurpose hot chocolate mix,” says a fellow chocoholic runner with a passion for clean eating.

    question: did you use all-purpose or whole-wheat flour in this cookie recipe?

  3. Pingback: Hot Chocolate Cookies « Oh Gnome!

  4. Pingback: chunky hot chocolate cookies « yumyumyummers

Leave a Reply

