Loser

Good evening from one very, very neglectful blogger! I wish I could say that I have been gone because I have been off defending the universe against the forces of evil or modeling for New York Fashion Week, but alas, I am just lazy and busy.

A few fun things have happened over the past few days, though. I am a constant flurry of exciting activity, make no mistake. First of all, I am officially an Oregon driver:

Thanks to my sweet license plate, we have officially renamed my car Shadowfax. If you don’t get it, consider yourself much less nerdy that me. I also have an Oregon Driver’s License on its way to me in the mail. Plus, as I pointed out to Steve, now I am one step closer to one of my many goals: To donate an organ in Oregon. All I have left to do is kick the bucket…

In other news, there is something I have been specifically choosing not to share on here, but I think I am comfortable enough to share it now: I have been trying to lose weight for the past two weeks. I purposely didn’t share this because:

a. I don’t want this to be pegged as a weight loss blog.

b. I know that as soon as people see “recovered eating disorder” and “I’m trying to lose weight” in the same place, imaginations start to run wild.

Let me assure you that I have been completely healthy about this. In fact, I am not decreasing my food intake, I am simply increasing my exercise. I have no desire to be a stick-thin waif, not to mention that my body would never allow for it, I am just simply a bit over my happy weight and it is making me feel sluggish and unhealthy. With that being said, my weight loss goal is 6 pounds. I have been plugging away at this for about 2 weeks and so far I have lost 2 pounds, a major accomplishment in my book! I don’t have any need to lose weight rapidly, as this is for me and me alone. I am taking my time and losing in a healthy way. I have been tracking my food intake on paper, which works fine, but isn’t very much fun. Coincidentally, yesterday I saw a post on my good friend Maren’s Blog about this really cool diet tracker called a “Fitbook“. Thanks to a credit I had on Amazon, I went ahead and ordered one for myself to help me through those last 5ish pounds. I am really excited for it to show up and I will make sure to give a full review when it does!

You can look forward to diet updates but not recaps. I am not, I repeat not a diet blog and I don’t want any weight I lose to change that!

However, just because this isn’t a diet blog doesn’t mean I can’t post tasty, diet-friendly recipes! You know you need a sugar detox after the amount of Cake Balls you ate. I certainly do! When we took those babies to Steve’s basketball game last night, one of the dads may have told him to “lock her down”. My left ring finger quivered at the thought, though, perhaps that was just another sugar induced twitch. Probably the latter.

Dinner was quick, easy, and tasty after a long day at school.

  • “Naturals” Sandwich Thin (The “natural” is questionable…)
  • A tasty local veggie burger in the Spicy Anasazi Bean variety
  • A Laughing Cow Light Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato & Basil Cheese Wedge

Tasty and easy, my motto!

How do you approach weight loss? Or, have you ever taken on weight loss?

What’s a favorite tasty and easy meal for you?

14 thoughts on “Loser

  1. Lord of the Rings, right?? And that dinner looks fabulous… don’t you love the sandwich thins? I’m in the middle of weight loss seeking myself. I am using Daily Plate to track my food and calorie intake and I really like it. I am still learning to stick to a certain amount a day, but so far I haven’t put on weight… so that’s progress right? LOL. Feel free to talk about it, weight is apart of life, as is delicious food, running, school, etc. Good luck!

  2. I love you for naming your car shadowfax…

    I’m obviously not going to tell you not to lose weight or anything, but DO be careful because it can be a slippery slope and you are beautiful just the way you are 🙂

    My fave easy dinner is the salad bar at school 😛 haha… I guess most/all of my dinners are easy 😉

    But when I’m actually cooking I’ll usually throw together a stir fry with some frozen veggie mix and such. Though I’m also a fan of veggie burgers like yours 🙂

  3. I completely agree on many levels…I’ve never mentioned anything like that on my blog either….however, I’m in need of losing just a few more pounds to diminish the sluggish feeling. I’ve tried several methods of tracking and fell in love with/settled on myfitnesspal.com. Sounds like you’re set but if you need a change, you should check it out! 🙂

  4. Dang it..I got all excited to get all nerdy with Gandalf’s horse but it appears everyone else beat me to it!

    I am trying to lose some weight right now too and definitely do NOT consider my blog a *diet* blog. I’m not on a *diet* I’m intuitively eating and exercising to shed some weight. 🙂

  5. oh, when I need and want to drop that smoosh I just quit eating carbs.

    remember December.

    don’t recommend it.

    You’ll do just fine chica. it’s called weight maintenance and I know your head is in the right place.

    not me.

    my blogging time always suffers when I struggle with stuff.
    hugs!!

  6. Okay, I just have to get this out the way….EEEEEK “lock ‘er down” ??????? sounds so…. ball and chainish!!!! Okay, ’nuff said.
    Miss you and totally get it about weight loss. Cake balls will do that to you.. I told Billl ” no can do. They will totally unhinge my weight loss efforts”. They sure looked good though!
    Twila

Leave a Reply

