Sequence

Sometimes it seems that everything happens the way it happens for a reason. Example, yesterday morning:

  • I had been wanting to cook/bake so I can give you guys a new post.
  • I had no money to cook/bake.
  • My crappy old phone turned off at some point during the night.
  • My alarm didn’t go off.
  • I missed my first class.
  • I decided to get my run done before my next class.
  • I found $20 on the sidewalk.
  • Now I can cook/bake for you!

Don’t you love when everything works out!?

I decided to opt for a breakfast post, as I haven’t done one of those in a very long time. This recipe is my twist on one that has been circling the blogging world for a while. As much fun as it would be to steal another recipe, honestly, they were all a bit much. I know that I can’t fit 600 calories in my belly at 7am, but 400 I can handle. Consider this your slimmed down version of a blogger favorite:

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

  • 6 Baby Carrots, Shredded
  • 1/3 Cup Oats
  • 1 Tbs Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 Cup Raisins
  • 3/4 Cup Vanilla Soy Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Water
  • 1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Tsp Ginger
  • 1/2 Tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/4 Tsp Cloves
  1. Finely grate your carrots.
  2. In a medium pot over medium heat, add your Vanilla Soy Milk, water and spices. Stir well.
  3. Add your carrots and oats and lower the heat if it starts to boil. Cook for about 7 minutes, stirring often. When your oats are thick, stir in the vanilla extract and maple syrup.
  4. Remove from heat and enjoy!

I also want to start adding nutritional information to my posts. I am going to give it a trial run, so please let me know if you like or dislike it. For the oats:

What do you think of my posting the nutritional information?

What are you up to this weekend?

5 thoughts on “Sequence

  1. What a good idea! I’ve never made carrot cake oatmeal before! Novel!

    I did a breakfast post today. I love them because they photograph so well (due to the time of day).

  2. That’s such a perfect little sequence of events! Hooray for finding $20! 🙂

    I dunno my opinion on calorie counts… I guess I think too many people get really obsessive about calorie counts so sometimes they make me nervous… :/ I post them occasionally but not usually. I think counting calories is only really necessary in some cases (I mean, it works, but it’s so easy to get overly and unhealthily obsessed with it, and I like the *concept* at least of intuitive eating…)
    Anyways that was a novel 😉 haha. those oats look delish!

Leave a Reply

