Chocolate Truffles

Remember when you were little and every Valentine’s Day you got to decorate a bag for your classroom and everyone would go around and put a personalized Valentine in it? I heard a woman talking in my Biology class yesterday about how, apparently, this isn’t allowed anymore in her daughter’s classroom. This is, of course, epically sad, since that was truly the last time that I really got excited about Valentine’s Day.

Okay, I lied, I used to get excited about Valentine’s Day. In middle school, and even through high school, I woke up on February 14th sure that the boy I had a crush on would profess his undying love to me through some grand gesture at school. I would wait the entire day for something, anything, while popular girls got candy grams and roses. But let’s be honest here: I was incredibly dorky and it probably never even occurred to most guys that I was a real girl instead of just a friend. I was that kind of girl.

The first time I ever got a gift that wasn’t required or from my family was my Freshman year of college. I was seeing (and by “seeing” I mean making out with)Β  a guy who worked at our student store on campus. To be perfectly honest, he was a weird kid who was a horrible match for me. But hey, the 17-year-old heart wants what the 17-year-old heart wants. On Valentine’s Day we happened to be on a date (and by date I mean making out) when he presented me with a stuffed monkey holding a bad of chocolate kisses. He had stolen it from work. Romantic, no?

The second gift I ever got from a boy was last night. Steve had to work all day, which wasn’t a problem since we had decided not to celebrate the fake holiday anyway. But when he showed up at home, effectively ruining my game of Spider Solitaire, he presented me with a red rose and chocolates. This is the first guy I have ever been dating (and by dating, I mean hooking up with.. and actually dating) that has gotten me anything on Valentine’s Day. He also let me pick our Valentine’s Day movie. I picked Zodiac… the perfect Valentine’s Day movie.

I could have picked anything, and I picked a movie about a serial killer. I think I might know why this guy likes me.

In honor of the fakest of all holidays, I hope you ate a lot of chocolate. If not, make these asap and start making up for lost time!

Chocolate Truffles

  • 8 oz dark or milk chocolate
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • Sprinkles
  1. Chop the chocolate and place 6 oz of it in a heatproof bowl.
  2. Bring the cream to a simmer on the stove. Then, pour over the chocolate. Stir until all the chocolate melts. Set aside and let cool at room temperature for one hour.
  3. Scoop out small spoonfuls of the chocolate mixture and place on a lined baking sheet. Place in the freezer for 15 minutes.
  4. Melt the remaining chocolate in the microwave and stir until smooth.
  5. Take the chocolates out of the freezer and put a little melted chocolate on your hands. Then, roll the balls of chocolate until they are smooth. Immediately roll in the sprinkles.
  6. Store chocolates in the fridge or freezer.

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Truffles

  1. I love sprinkles, so you know I think these are beautiful!! they are undoubtedly delicious too… Zodiac was also undoubtedly an interesting choice! πŸ˜‰ I have a *sort of* fascination with all that makes up a serial killer (sociology degree and… just inquisitive mind, I suppose…) and that is a good movie… glad you two had a good one!

    • I too have a morbid sort of interest in the kind of thing.
      I had seen the movie a long time ago and I kept telling Steve it was really good and that “I wont spoil anything for you, but…” Well, about 10 minutes in, I realized that I didn’t remember any of it. I was just as much in suspense as he was! πŸ™‚

  2. Well, allow me to chime in here, and say Me THREE on the whole serial killer thing. I also am fascinated by zombies and ghosts.

    Anywho, I adore that you used sprinkles. Sprinkles are such a happy food. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

