Detox+Simple Granola Bars

The past few days I have been making a very conscious effort to eat foods that fuel me, not my emotions. Let’s rewind a little bit so I can tell you the reasons for these emotions.

I have finally come to terms with the fact that I am just not good at science. I guess I just assumed that, as a Dietetics major, I need to be good at science. Okay, let me tell you, this isn’t the case. Sure, science is the base for nutrition, but the two are completely different beasts. I love nutrition and I am really good at it, but some aspects of Chemistry and just about all of Biology fly directly over my head.

This Quarter at school, I have been taking Chemistry, Biology, Nutrition, Communications, and Medical Terminology in preparation for my double major in Dietetics and Nutrition for Fitness.Β  I am just going to be blunt and say that I have been struggling in Biology. Despite my studying and hard work it wasn’t looking good for my grade. On Monday I made the tough decision to swallow my pride and drop Biology. I still need to take it, but hopefully the next time I will not only have a foundation in the subject, but I will know what I am getting myself in to and study accordingly. To be honest, I felt a little bit like a failure. It took a lot of positive words from friends and family to remind me that I am just doing what is best.

On another academic note, I am rethinking my double major. It adds a lot of classes and stress to my life and really, I just want it to say that I have two degrees. It is a trophy, that is it. I would still be a Dietetics major, I would just drop my second. It would relieve so much stress! Maybe if I lower my stress level I can stop being such a major beotch to Steve. I’m not in top girlfriend form right now.

So getting back to food, I have been stress eating a lot and surprise(!) it isn’t fixing anything. On Monday I took the time to prepackage a bunch of fresh food for myself and my diet yesterday consisted of:

  • Bananas
  • Raisins
  • Apples
  • Tofurky
  • Celery
  • Black Beans
  • Homemade Pumpkin Butter
  • Homemade Hummus
  • Seasoned Potatoes
  • Butternut Squash

It felt so nice to eat real food and I would consider myself on a “detox” of sorts. I never ever believe in deprivation, I just believe in fueling your body with what keeps it running best. And an ice-cream sandwich for dessert kept me running and left my eternal chocolate craving feeling fulfilled.

Today I have packed some of my tastiest foods from yesterday to take to school for lunch. It is a beautiful, fresh lunch and I can’t wait!

If you are looking for a wholesome recipe using real food, look no further than this post. I have a confessed Clif Bar addiction, and these babies are better than Clif bars. True story!

Simple Granola Bars

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 Cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and generously grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, flour, raisins and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in the honey, egg whites, oil and vanilla. Mix well using your hands. Pat the mixture evenly into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes in the preheated oven, until the bars begin to turn golden at the edges. Cool for 5 minutes, then cut into bars while still warm. Do not allow the bars to cool completely before cutting, or they will be too hard to cut.

Do you ever believe in a junk food “detox”, of sorts?

Are you ever a stress eating?

14 thoughts on “Detox+Simple Granola Bars

  1. Wow, this is a very powerful statement: “I have been making a very conscious effort to eat foods that fuel me, not my emotions.” It hits home for me. I will be trying this recipe, thanks for posting the nutritional information – I love it when people do this.

  2. School is just a pressure cooker of stress. I’ve had to accept it. But like you when I stick to eating healthy and getting in my fitness the stress feels so much less daunting. Those bars look delicious. And do what you feel is right about your classes and majors. You know what will make you happy and help get through your classes. I had to take only one class for a quarter once and it ate me up, but I had a lot going on and it was the right decision in the end. You’ll figure it all out!

  3. I agree. I’m a nutrition person, but not a science person.

    Have you ever heard about the O2 Diet? I’m not a big “diet” person, but some of the principles are cool. It basically rates your diet based on antioxidant count. You don’t count calories or fat, but you eliminate many “junky” foods. I had to write an article on it recently, and it seems to be a junk “detox” of sorts. Just thought I’d mention it.

  4. OH MY GOD! I know EXACTLY what you’re going through right now – I feel like such a failure because I SUCK at math and Chem, but in the end, we don’t really need that for our day to day work in our majors. My dad told me that I should think of myself as an AVERAGE chemist…average means C. There’s no shame in it. I can’t help but still feel frustrated, though. I am always doing schoolwork and I just put so much pressure on myself to be perfect, when in reality, I don’t need to be. No one looks at grades, just your degree. ARGHHH!

    But yeah, I feel yah. You have my sympathies πŸ™‚

  5. Girl, you DO WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO to be healthy and happy and enjoying your life! It’s totally not worth it ot make yourself miserable over biology or an extra major. I promise it’ll be okay. πŸ™‚ I’m not a fan of chem… though I do liek bio!

    And those bars look scrumptious!

  6. sorry about your stressors chica.

    you’ll get there and make whatever changes you need. You’ll get it all worked out.

    and I am a total snacker when I am stressed or depressed.

    I always have to snap out of it and “detox” too.

    big hugs to ya!

    ps I am still here, just having a tough time finding blog time on a computer that works.

  7. I really want to go back to school for Nutrition/Dietitian but I am very worried about the whole Math situation. I am NOT good at math, but did good in science. I feel your pain, I am been under tons of stress and in the past 5 months I gained over 10 lbs. Where I work I am surrounded by junk food and was having 6-8 either Twix, Oreos packages, or Chip-ahoy cookies. I went to my dr. in tears asking for help, she was wonderful enough to give me a list of food to eat. I am still looking for a Dietitian to sit down with and talk/go over a meal plan. Good luck to you and I can’t wait to make your granola bars!!!

      • Yeah, it shouldn’t be math heavy at all – my school happens to require Pre-Cal as a co-requisite for Chemistry I and you may have to take a Statistics class, but other than that, no math! Go for it! πŸ˜€

  8. Pingback: happy hump day. « Of Cookies & Carrots

Leave a Reply

