Cookies and Cream Brownies

Brownies are one of those delicious things that I seldom eat. I read in a magazine a few years ago that brownies are one of the most difficult foods for our body to digest and ever since then they kind of scare me. Whether or not that claim holds any basis in reality is unknown to me, but I just don’t like the idea of a brownie sitting in the bottom of my belly all day. Yep, it creeps me out a little.

Despite my brownie phobia, I adore them… on occasion. I mean, who doesn’t love a good brownie!? Since this week is Steve’s basketball team’s last game, I decided to bake something special for them. This was definitely an occasion to consult my favorite baking blogger. She is my go-to for over the top sinful desserts and she definitely didn’t fail me today!

Cookies and Cream Brownies

Borrowed from How Sweet It Is

Brownies

  • 2-3 squares baking chocolate
  • 1/2 lb butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 8 Oreo cookies, crumbled
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Melt butter and baking squares in a microwave safe bowl. In the mixing bowl, cream melted butter and chocolate mixture.
  3. Add in sugar and vanilla and beat until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add in eggs, beating one at a time.
  4. Add flour and stir just until combined. Fold in cookie crumbles.
  5. Pour into greased 9 x 13 baking dish.  Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until just barely done. Cool before frosting.

Frosting

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 – 2 lbs powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk
  • 10 Oreo cookies
  1. Mix butter and powdered sugar together, adding sugar gradually to the mix. Add vanilla. Mix in milk, adding more if needed. Continue to add milk and sugar until it reaches the desired consistency.
  2. Crush Oreos and fold them into the frosting.

3 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Brownies

  1. I actually said out loud Oh my Gosh when I finally saw a picture of these puppies. Holy yum. I’m so glad you made these 🙂 even though they sit in the tummy all day. Sometimes it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

