Portuguese Sweet Bread

Something I have been doing but shouldn’t have:


Yesterday I ate a lot of bread. This diet misstep reminded me why I don’t make bread anymore: I eat all of it.

 

Something I should be doing but haven’t:

 

Someone (namely “me”) is running a half marathon on Sunday. I haven’t trained at all, in fact, I haven’t run more than 8 miles in about a month. It should be a jolly good time! I am taking the “fly by the seat of my pants” approach and just going for it. Actually, I am going for the “It is supposed to be pouring, so the faster I run, the faster it will be over” approach. Oh, and also the “I really love medels” approach.

 

Something I will be doing and wont forget:

 

Note to self: Sunday, remember that you have a race, your anniversary, and perhaps most importantly, Harley’s 1st birthday. Self, don’t forget any of these things!

 

Something you should be doing and will:

 

Make this bread! It is super tasty and I just realized that it would make awesome french toast!

 

Portuguese Sweet Bread

  • 2 packages active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 cup lukewarm milk (scalded, then cooled)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 5 1/2 – 6 cups flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tsp brown sugar
  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in large bowl. Stir in milk, 3/4 cup sugar, salt, 3 eggs, margarine and 3 cups flour. Beat until smooth.
  2. Stir in enough remaining flour to make dough easy to handle. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface.
  3. Knead until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. Place in greased bowl. Turn greased side up. Cover and let rise in warm place until double, 1 1/2 to 2 hours. (Dough is ready if indentation remains when touched)
  4. Punch down dough and divide into halves. Place each half in a greased bread pan. Cover and let rise until double, about 1 hour.
  5. Heat oven to 350F.
  6. Beat 1 egg slightly and brush over loaves. Sprinkle with 1 teaspoon sugar and 1 tsp brown sugar. Bake until loaves are golden brown, 35 to 45 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Portuguese Sweet Bread

  1. I love bread and probably collect more bread recipes than I can ever make, but if you say this is good it goes farther to the top of the list! hehe. Good luck with the race on Sunday. The rain yesterday (here in Eugene) was abominable!

  2. I stopped baking bread for exactly just that reason.

    no self control in the carb dept.
    GOOD LUCK Sunday, you’ll do awesome. Just no hurt knees!!!!

    your sweet bread looks so perfect right about now!
    xo

  3. well now that bread looks delicious!!
    good luck on your race!! I never make bread for the opposite reason; I’m always too scared to eat it. I’m hoping that one of these days I can work myself up to deserving a good piece of healthy homemade bread. After all, the brain needs carbs to function!!

Leave a Reply

