Hot Chocolate Cake- I Dun Goof’d

Steve and I like to say, “I dun goof’d” whenever we make a mistake (so, rarely). We got this stellar expression from something my sister found on the interwebs:

Well, yesterday I dun goof’d. In my frenzy of sick baking which resulted in my eating way too much frosting (story of my life), I decided to make a recipe I have had bookmarked for a long time. It was only when I put the cake in the oven that I realized that I had forgotten to add the baking soda and salt. I dun goof’d. Instead of marveling at the most beautiful cake ever put up on earth, you not get to marvel at my messed up version. But if my version is any indicator, the real version is out of this world delicious.

Hot Chocolate Cake

Borrowed from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp mint extract
  • 1 1/4 cups cocoa
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows (or big ones cut into quarters)
  1. Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar.
  2. Add egg and flavorings.
  3. Add the cocoa and 1/2 cup of the buttermilk.  Mix well.
  4. Add all of the remaining ingredients except the marshmallows.
  5. Stir in the marshmallows.
  6. Spread in 2 loaf pans. Bake 350 degrees 1 hour or until done.

 

Oh, and thank you for all your well wishes on my sickness. I am much better today! Unfortunately, my knee pain means that I may have to buck up and sit Sunday’s half-marathon out. Instead, Harley and I have plans to bake her a birthday cake and go on a special Petco trip so she can shop for two birthday presents (one to grow on). It will be a special day indeed!

Oh yeah… and it is Steve and my anniversary. I can’t forget that!

3 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Cake- I Dun Goof’d

  1. Well, even if you did goof, the care package we got in the mail today was yummy, yummy, yummy. Thanks for sharing – what a great daughter!!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

