This Is What’s Up

I know that as soon as I press “publish” on this post, everyone is going to say things like, “We understand how busy you have been!”, “It’s finals time, don’t stress it.”, “I have been studying nonstop too!”. Well, while all these comments are very nice and I’m glad you all have so much faith in me, let me tell you how I have really been spending my last two weeks of the quarter:

We have watched about 500 movies and played countless hours of Castle Crashers.

That is it. That is all I have done. These are the reasons why I have been a bad blogger of late. I will let you believe that my books haven’t gathered a layer of dust and my forearm isn’t tired from pressing the “square button” so many times in order to beat the fire demons. That would just be preposterous. Let me give you a little rundown of the things I have been doing:

Exercise

I am still trying not to run because I have having major knee/shin/foot issues. Instead, I have been at the gym almost every day plugging away at the elliptical. I tend to put in long workouts on the elliptical (between 60 and 90 minutes) since it is pretty easy and doesn’t get the job done as well as running. I am hoping to try for a short run at the end of this week, just to test the water. If all goes way, I may try to slowly build up my mileage once again. I have a half-marathon next month and a marathon in May and I really want to do at least the full! Time to get my booty back in training mode!

Body

I disclosed about a month ago that I was trying to lose some weight. I’m not obese or anything, I have just put on a few pounds over Winter that made me feel sluggish and uncomfortable. I am still plugging away at some semblance of a diet and I am down about 4.5 pounds. I feel better, but I am still not quite at my “happy weight”. I’ll keep you updated as I inch closer to my goal!

Home

We are finally seeing some signs of Spring around Corvallis! Dare I say that I am actually ready for some warmer weather/sunshine? But that is the joy of living in a place with actual seasons, you actually get excited for the sun! However, I don’t think the world is ready to see me in shorts. I am pretty sure you can actually see through my legs right now, they are so pale. When it snows, sometimes I walk by a store window and I think that I have disappeared, but really I am just blending in. I am like a Camille-eon of paleness. (Super pun!) I have also decided that there is no need to cut my ratty mane of hair until early summer, as it just ends up in a ponytail or bun anyway. Believe me, you don’t want to see my hair down when it is raining. It is a sight to behold.

Food

My eats have been boring lately. There is really nothing worth sharing. Mostly I have been enjoying egg sandwiches, oatmeal, and broccoli. Not out of diet necessity, but really out of laziness. Since I am trying to keep my finger out of the cookie dough, I am taking a little baking breather. However, just because “diet” is spelled with “die” doesn’t mean that I have lost my generous nature. I am like my house’s Mother Theresa (Well, Steve and Oy are both boys and Harley likes to bite everything and is 78% pure, fluffy evil, making me the clear choice). To prove my sainthood, I decided to bake something and then immediately send it far, far away from here to a magical land called San Diego…

Cake Batter Krispie Treats

Borrowed from How Sweet It Is
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 10-ounce bag of mini marshmallows
  • 1/4 cup yellow cake mix
  • 6 cups rice krispies cereal
  • 1 1.75-ounce container of sprinkles
  1. Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows.
  2. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined.
  3. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture.
  4. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix.
  5. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles.
  6. Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.

Just be warned, this is a very fast moving recipe. Make sure you don’t start unless you can stand by the stove with them the entire time!


2 thoughts on “This Is What’s Up

  1. Haha, I’m with you on being uber pale. My sister got all the luck, I don’t know who but she is a bit darker than me, and tans really well. I go from white as a sheet to burnt red in like 10 minutes in the sun without spf 2000000. It’s a cruel world for us Camilleons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

