Passion Drive

In the midst of these big changes I am making academically, I am making some other changes as well. As a Dietetics student, I felt that any time I spent doing things for myself that I enjoy was time that I should have been devoting to my studies. Even when I wasn’t studying, hobbies did not seem like a constructive use of my time. Well, it so happens that one of my hobbies is writing. Whether it be here, on my blog, or simply writing a short story for myself, I have always derived great happiness from writing. Since changing my major to New Media Communications last week, I feel that I have merged my studies and my hobbies and it feels fantastic. Today I did something I have been wanting to do for years. Years. I sat down on the couch with my laptop and just started writing. Perhaps it isn’t the most beautiful eloquent thing I have ever written, but a few hours later I have the start of a likely mediocre book. Okay, maybe it isn’t as bad as I think it is, but it’s no Shakespeare, that much is true.

 

Something else I have been changing is my diet and fitness intensity. Dietetics is a competitive field. In addition to being academically prosperous, it is crucial that you look the part. I don’t mean that you necessarily need to be rail thin, but you have to be a good role model for anyone you work with. I actually read an article about this at one point, but I can’t remember where. (If you remember this article, please let me know!) As an aspiring RD, I felt a lot of pressure to eat and exercise perfectly and it was simply too much for me. I will be straight with you, I love bread. I would gladly eat it for every meal of the day. I am still a healthy eater and I have no plans to change that, but I don’t feel pressure to be perfect anymore. I am listening to my body a lot more as well. Having woken up the past two days with some serious pain in my left shin, foot, and knee, I have done the unthinkable and not exercised. Yep, I haven’t exercised in 2 days! Take that, Dietetics!

 

I feel so happy. I feel mentally and physically healthy and it feels incredible to be doing things I love again. Oh, and I am being a much nicer girlfriend. With an actual graduation date on the horizon (next June!), I am doing more thinking about the idea of grad school and all the fun stuff that goes with it. Where should we go? When should we go? Should we go? This is all stuff that doesn’t need to be decided now, but it sure is fun to think about!

I am driving my passion by writing and listening to my body, how about you?

 

What are you doing to drive your passion?

7 thoughts on “Passion Drive

  1. I’m glad you’re making all of these wonderful changes in your life πŸ™‚ It’s amazing how picking the right major can change how you view other areas of your life! Although, I have to say that I think the key lesson in dietetics is moderation – I don’t think it’s a bad thing to not exercise every day (I haven’t “exercised” in 7 months – I walk everywhere!), nor do I think it’s bad to eat bread at every meal…after all, carbs are supposed to make up 60% of your daily intake! πŸ™‚ I’m glad that the pressure is off, though – your major shouldn’t put that kind of stress on you!

  2. I’m glad you made up your mind. It seems like all health related majors are super competitive. I hear ya though, Im a dietetics major and chemistry and stats are clearly not my friend this semester! I have a passion for nutrition so I honestly wouldn’t have a clue if I changed my major. Good luck in New Media!

Leave a Reply

