Worst Wisdom Teeth Story… Ever

Remember yesterday when I posted about getting my wisdom teeth out? I am about to tell you a story that will make you never want to get oral surgery… ever…

 

Take a gander at this:

This is not something you receive when you get your wisdom teeth out. This is something you receive at the emergency room.

 

All day yesterday I had actually been feel really good. Aside from my chipmunk cheeks and difficulties getting food down, I felt basically normal. I drank a lot of milk yesterday and had some applesauce and a green monster. Nothing major, but I definitely wasn’t starving.  I started feeling a little bit of pain in the evening, but it was basically your standard post-surgery stuff. I slept pretty restlessly last night due to the pain, and I finally got up at 5am to go to the bathroom. After doing my bathroom business and attempting to clean my face off a bit, I turned around to go back to bed and was hit with a wave of dizziness. Next thing I knew I was waking up on the bathroom floor feeling scared and panicked. I managed to stumble out of the bathroom and in to the hall where I passed out again. This time, Steve woke up when he heard me hit the floor and came running out. He tried to navigate me back to bed but I took a few more steps and passed out on the bedroom floor. I guess this time I hit the floor really hard because next thing I remember I was lying in bed with Steve holding a paper towel to my chin, which was bleeding pretty heavily.

At this point Steve called my Stepmom, Twila, who is a nurse and tried to figure out what to do. Twila told Steve to get me to the ER. He managed to help me get some semblance of clothing on and held me up when I passed out next to the car again. He sped me over to the ER where they got me right in to a room and hooked me up to fluids. At this point I had a gash on my chin, my nose and some serious pain in my right hand. After having me on fluids for about an hour trying to get me conscious again, the doctor came in and gave me 5 stitches in my chin. My nose is incredibly swollen, but he said it wasn’t broken. Hopefully the swelling and bruising will go down in the next day or two. Luckily my hand also wasn’t broken, but it is still giving me some serious pain. Hopefully that will subside as well. All in all, I ended my ER visit with 4 liters of fluids, 5 stitches, and a face that is swollen beyond recognition (seriously, I barely recognize myself).

So how’s that for a wisdom tooth story? Try and top me, I dare you!

Please accept this as my excuse for not posting real food for the next week or so. I am trying to work up a serious hunger for the dozen bagels I am going to eat when my mouth works again.

9 thoughts on “Worst Wisdom Teeth Story… Ever

    • They said that they think I was dehydrated and the combination of that and the heavy duty pain meds wasn’t pretty. The doc said that he thinks I have a strong reaction to such strong medication because I am pretty small. They have me some meds through an IV and I just passed right out!

  1. Oh my gosh Camille! I hope you feel better soon. That is so scary, I’m glad it’s over for you. Steve definitely gets the AWESOME boyfriend award!

  2. I am SO glad you are better, and I just knew you were dehydrated, among other things! And you did need stitches, so going to the ER was a GOOD THING!
    Drink LOTS of fluids!
    Lots of hugs and love coming your way,
    Twila

Leave a Reply

