Better On Friday

I don’t believe in naps. Ever. Never ever. I have maintained a person mantra of “Naps are for the weak” for as long as I can remember and I see no worse way to spend my day than fast asleep.

 

This being said, I have taken a nap the past three days. It’s not even that I feel like I need it, it’s just that the dang medicine knocks me out. Every day between 1 and 2 pm, my eyes start getting heavy and before you know it I have been out for almost two hours. I will admit, it does feel good. I wont make a habit of it, but for as long as I am sick, I may have to be a nap person.

 

We are now officially on day 4 post-surgery and I am still a swollen mess. I am better, but not great. My breath smells like, well, I can only imagine that it is horrendous. My face desperately needs to be washed, and no one warned me that I would gain 6 pounds of water weight from the IV fluids, leaving me looking like a swollen little Oompa Loopa. I am actually getting a bit worried about going back to school on Tuesday. I will still have my stitches and I have come to terms with that, but I don’t think I can handle going back to school with a face this huge and painful. I swear I’m not a vain person, but this is just a bit much. Okay body, you have 3 1/2 days to get yourself back up and running. Ideally by Tuesday my body will have shed the water weight, de-puffed my face, healed the wounds on my nose, and generally decided to be my friend again.

 

This being said, I am much better. My face is slightly more human than before and I managed to sleep until 4:30am today without waking up. Considering the past few nights I had been waking up every hour, this is quite an improvement. I actually decided to sleep on the couch last night because, for some reason, it is easier on my body. Indeed, I did sleep better than I have been on the bed. This is probably because normally I sleep on my stomach, but since I can’t do that right now, I am sleeping on my back. Being on my back on the bed makes my neck and back really sore. I just don’t think the mattress is squishy enough to conform to my body.

 

Unfortunately I am still on a liquid diet. Needless to say, it is getting quite bland. I love green monsters and Slimfast as much as the next person, but a girl can only take so much before she wants to dive headfirst in to a vat of bagels. Sweet, sweet bagels. I could write sonnets about them right now. The emotions I am feeling for bagels are surely the same emotions that inspired novels like Gone With the Wind and films like Titanic. Bagels, I want you to be inside me. I won’t even censor it. Just be mine.

 

But alas, instead of bagels I am ringing in Friday with only the most delicious of liquid fuel. Breakfast was milk and applesauce (nothing sounded good, I just needed something in my belly to take my pain pills). Delicious, no? Luckily lunch was much more delicious. I powered through a Jamba Juice Strawberry Nirvana in about 10 minutes. I then ended up getting so cold that I hurt my mouth when my jaw started chattering. Totally worth it!

We also picked up some more Slimfasts, this time in chocolate rather than vanilla to break up the boredom. I know, how crazy am I!?

I’m going to spend the rest of the day on the couch doing more recovery. Plus, there is a House Hunters marathon to be watched!

Hope you are having a good Friday!

3 thoughts on “Better On Friday

  1. so glad you are on the mend but I am also sorry for the aftermath.

    I had my so called simple extractions done years ago and it was horrible and I was out cold for 48 hours on vicodin but NOTHING LIKE WHAT YOU WENT THRU.

    take a nap…with harley.
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

