Half Made Decisions

I have had a really, really nice morning.

 

I am currently finishing up an article for our school paper on a new gardening project in Corvallis for low-income youths and this morning I headed over to the garden to talk with some of the participants. Everyone was so incredibly nice and the kids… well, they weren’t kids, they were young adults, were so composed and driven. Projects like this seriously warm my heart. I wanted to help them so badly but alas, that, my friends, is what we call a conflict of interest. I would never say this in my article, but I really just wanted to give them all hugs and wish them the best. Seriously nice people.

 

If you want to read more about the program, you can check out their website.

 

After I left the garden I went a few blocks over to the OSU Foundation offices to pick up my race packet for tomorrow’s Corvallis Half Marathon. It was just my luck that Girls on the Run had a booth set up outside! I have been trying to get involved with them for a while but I hadn’t heard back from anyone. The woman at the booth seemed surprised that no one had called me and took down my name and number to be a coach! Hurray! By the way, if you are wondering why Girls on the Run sounds familiar, maybe it is because Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point is really involved in the program.

 

After chatting for a moment, I went inside to pick up my race packet. Since this is the inaugural race and it is still picking up steam, there was no expo or anything, just volunteers and a swag bag, or, as I prefer to call them, advertisement bags. I did get a nice tech-tee, though, so all is good!

Apparently they are operating under the assumption that I will finish!

My issue? In typical Oregon weather fashion, I have no idea what to wear tomorrow! Our forecast looks like this, with the race starting at 9:30am:

So, it’s going to be 50 and rainy. I feel like I would be too hot in a jacket but too cold in a t-shirt! Unfortunately I am running this one without a cheering section, so I can’t just wear my jacket and pass it off to Steve or anyone. Agh, I don’t know what to do. Right now I am leaning toward a tank top and hoping I will warm up enough. I guess if I don’t I will just run faster to try and finish! This is the outfit I am currently considering:

Please excuse our wrinkly comforter. 

What would you wear for that kind of weather? Keep in mind that I am going to be running for 2 hours.

 

P.S. Make sure you check out my first Beat Blog post and leave me some feedback!

2 thoughts on “Half Made Decisions

Leave a Reply

