Camille: Employed

Happy Tuesday!

.

Here in Oregon, the sun is shining and it actually resembles something like Spring outside! I am even rockin’ a skirt so that everyone can see my uber-pasty legs. Sexy, I know.

.

But alas, while the rest of the world soaks in the sun while playing Ultimate Frisbee, I am sitting in the library studying and contemplating the insanity of my day. Seriously, take a gander at my schedule for today:

.

  • 6:15am- Alarm goes off and I finish an article that is due today
  • 7:55am- Catch the bus to school
  • 8:30-9:50am- History of Telecommunications, complete with a quiz
  • 10-11:20am- New Media Storytelling
  • 11:30-12pm- Double shot coffee with some friends before they head to class
  • 12-3pm- In the library getting my study on
  • 3:20pm- Meeting with my academic adviser
  • 4-5:20pm- Writing for the Media Professional
  • 5:30- Meeting with the newspaper’s Business Manager for a new job I am starting tomorrow (more about that in a sec)
  • 7pm- Jean Kilbourne speech on campus that I am attending for my Reporting class (and because I have always wanted to hear her speak)
  • 9pm- Steve picks me up and takes me home

.

Lovely, no? Tomorrow is going to be even more hectic, but I don’t want to think about that yet.

.

Now let me tell you about my new job! I am going to be working for the OSU newspaper delivering the paper around town at… drumroll…. 5am. Yep, for serious. I write it, then I deliver it. I should probably just start eating the newspaper for meals too, so I can fully involve it in all aspects of my day.

Yeah, the hours kind of suck, but I will get used to it. In fact, the only reason I didn’t have a job yet was because I have no time during my day to work, so this actually works out well. I will be delivering Monday through Friday, bright and early, starting tomorrow. I am officially getting paid to write for the paper then give it to people. It’s like I’m being paid to promote myself. Is it frowned upon if I go through and highlight my article in all the papers before I drop it off?

.

Dear Local Businesses I Am Delivering To,

I will accept free coffee in exchange for your papers.

Thanks,

Camille

.

.

Now I can afford to fuel my caffeine habit and clothing addiction! Oh yeah, and pay off my credit card…

.

.

How do you balance school and work?

What’s the earliest you have ever had to work?

  • I used to have to be at work at 5am on Sundays when I worked at Best Buy. T’was not fun… mostly because the job sucked, though.
2 thoughts on “Camille: Employed

  1. Gosh I deliver papers once too, I couldnt do it . Sleeeep. Ironically I now get up way earlier for my work than ever before 5 am!! and its by choice. Its hard balancing work and school!

  2. Pingback: Hot, Hot, Hot | I Will Run For Chocolate

Leave a Reply

