That Time I Set A PR While Hungover

I was trying to wait to post this until my race results and photos went up, but they are taking forever! So here you go! Photos and official numbers will come soon (hopefully).

.

.

Remember when I talked about how I got wine-drunk and passed out in the car? Obviously that is a great way to spend the night before a 5k. In fact, I should probably do it more often, since I managed to PR while hungover…

.

Yes, I PR’d while hungover.

.

I was signed up for a 5k yesterday morning and I was not feeling it, obviously. I woke up feeling as if I would rather chew my own leg off before running, but I wasn’t going to let my $20 go to waste. I kept telling myself, “It’s just three miles. You will be done in less than half an hour. Just. Do. It.”

.

And I did do it. How? I have no idea, but I did it.

.

I didn’t know what the packet pick up situation was going to be like, so I left for the race about an hour before it was set to start, even though it was only about three miles away. The outdoors were bright and cold and I didn’t like them, so I got my bib and shirt and went and texted my friend, Sarah, in the car for 45 minutes. (P.S. Sarah, 37 more days until we are re-united!)

.

The race was a small one for CARDV in Corvallis. It was a 5k run/walk as well as a one and two mile walk. I hustled toward the front of the 5k runners so I didn’t have a repeat of Eugene where I was doing the “walker weave” for the first few miles.

.

Let me go ahead and say that I haven’t run a non-distance race in a very, very long time. When the horn went off, I booked it out of there like my Kardashian tiny, white girl butt was on fire. I hit the first mile marker at 7:20 and kept a pretty consistent pace through the entire run. And I still got passed! Fast people scare me.

.

I felt like puking up wine for the entire race, and I basically only ran so fast because I wanted it to be over asap. And it was over quickly. Very quickly. I finished in about 23:44!

.

.

Then I went home and threw up. Because I am a classy lady who keeps my hangover puke out of the bushes and in my toilet. Fancy.

6 thoughts on “That Time I Set A PR While Hungover

  1. Being a previous nutrition major, you must know that you are supposed to carb load the night before a race. I guess wine counts.
    Mom
    PS You are a good girl for letting someone else drive home.

Leave a Reply

