Beat Blog: Too Old Or Too Wise?

I was recently reading an editorial from the Corvallis Gazette-Times detailing how one man felt that he was “too old” for the summer blockbuster season. I finished the story and felt a sense of foreboding. Could this happen to me? God forbid I get too old to enjoy the spectacle of superhero movies!

.

Is it possible to be too old to be cool?

By the way, this is a real photo that I took in Seattle. True story.

.

I remember moments when I was growing up like the one when I wondered why I was the only person in my family who wanted to see the 1998 version of Godzilla. I couldn’t grasp the fact that both of my parents seemed to think that the film was the devil incarnate. In my 8-year-old mind, it had monsters, special effects, and hype, so I figured that it had to be good.

.

Needless to say, my parents where quite right in their judgment of the quality of the film, but was their lack of interest due to the fact that the film was horrible or because they had grown out of the big-budget movies? I would argue for the first of the two options.

.

I don’t really think you can grow out of big-budget films, but I do think you can outgrow the illusion that special effects equate to a good film. My Dad is a prime example of this.

.

My Dad and I are known for seeing effects heavy films in theaters because “it is worth it.” However, he is quite aware of the fact that some of these films will not be top quality. In many cases, we are watching for the effects rather than the plot. Does this throw the film industry’s concept of a “target audience” out the window? Perhaps.

.

I would argue that the “target audience” is not so much composed of ages as it is of different people with different interests. Indeed, assuming that interests are based on age assumes the fact that this generation, that grew up on billion dollar movies and iPods, will someday lose interest in everything they were exposed to in their lifetime.

.

It’s true, interests change with age. However, enjoyment of good films doesn’t have to.

One thought on “Beat Blog: Too Old Or Too Wise?

  1. Camille: You continue to find fun topics for your blog. I especially like the art treatment of the photos you post. That’s imaginative, and enhances the appeal of the photos. For what it’s worth, I hate blockbusters. Lately, I’ve been working through some of the classics from the 50s and watched “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” last night. Dumb. Shoulda gone with a blockbuster. Score = 10.

Leave a Reply

