I Will Miss…

Wow, it’s been a while!

.

Honestly, I don’t have too much to report on the treatment front as after my consultation, no one has called me back to schedule a second appointment. Seriously. I am not crazy enough!? I can be crazier!! πŸ™‚

.

But despite the lack of news on that front, I am less than a week out from leaving Oregon for the summer, and I have some thoughts I wanted to share.

.

Steve and I have lived in Corvallis for 9 months and 6 days (Is it bad that my female brain said, “Hey, that’s enough time to make a baby!” Bad Camille, bad!). I never thought that I could replace the home I had grown up in and lived in for 19 years with somewhere I have lived for less than a year, but it has happened. Corvallis is absolutely my home. There is nothing about this little town that I don’t love.

.

The weather was pretty nice last night, so I decided to walk home from the gym. I spent 45 minutes thinking about all the things I am going to miss about Oregon while I am back in San Diego for a month and a half. Here is a taste of what I came up with (By the way, I can’t take credit for many of these photos. The landscape ones are all courtesy of Google images):

.

.

1. I will miss the way the fog rolls in over the hills every night and lingers through the mornings.

.

2. I will miss my desk at my newsroom.

.

3. I will miss the 1,000 shades of green that suddenly appear when the sun shines.

.

4. I will miss seeing a town covered in Orange and Black.

.

5. I will miss being able to talk to strangers without the fear of kidnapping or rape.

.

6. I will miss being able to bike everywhere.

.

7. I will miss Saturday markets down by the water.

.

8. I will miss walking in to Fred Meyer and seeing someone I know on every isle.

.

9. I will miss everyone drinking their coffee out of a straw.

.

10. I will miss the fact that, no matter how long I live here, I never get over the beauty of Corvallis.

.

.

Of course, I could go on for days, but that is just going to make me too sad to be leaving.

.

Where do you call home? What do you miss most when you are gone?

4 thoughts on “I Will Miss…

Leave a Reply

